Adventures in Netflix! Episode 2: Buck Rogers Buck Rogers Buck Rogers

Standard

Adventures in Netflix! Episode 2: Buck Rogers in the 25th Century

Hello everyone and welcome to the second episode of Adventures in Netflix! (Yes I do have to write it that way every time I mention the name.) In this episode I’ll be giving you my opinion of the pilot episode of the 1979-1981 TV show Buck Rogers in the 25th Century.

My first thought during the opening was how strange it is to see 1987 (the intro says 1987 is the year Buck Rogers’ ship launched from earth) as the near future; I wasn’t even born yet. My second thought was how silly Buck Rogers looked spinning down a vortex of badly animated gold disks.

Once the show actually started I was really impressed by some of the practical ship effects; of course there were just as many bad practical effects, but I was reminded again of just how good ship models can look. I don’t want to get to sidetracked, but I really wish movies would start using a combination of techniques, practical effects for as much as they can, and CG for everything that can’t be done with practical effects.

Say what you will about the "actors" inside it, this ship is actually pretty scary

Anyway, moving on. I was quickly reminded of how silly a lot of the clothing in sci fi shows looks, I mean what kind of self-respecting military makes white spandex their uniform?

"What do you mean you think my uniforms silly?"

And don’t even get me started on what ever that (below) is.

"Hmm... those are nice shoes..."

Moving on, I was rather shocked at just how much this show borrowed from Star Wars and Battlestar Galactica, at least in terms of looks. The fighters even launched out of the same rocket tube thingies they use in Galactica.

"Now that you mention it, I guess our wings are kinda X--ish..."

All in all My time with Buck Rogers left me feeling a little bored. I think I probably would have really liked it if I was a kid back when it was on, but now it just didn’t do it for me. that’s not to say I didn’t like it, though, The core concepts are interesting, I just wish that it had been a little more… more.

P.S. The song that played during the end credits may be the absolute worst thing ever recorded in the history of man. Here, just listen for yourself.

(Up next in Adventures in Netflix: Galactica 1980.)

Leave a Reply

