GHWO: Episode 1

Standard

That stands for Gaming Hour with Otter. Yes, boys and girls, it’s here. The moment none of you have been waiting for.

OKAY. Since I want to keep things neat and organized, I’ll list details of the game I’ll be playing. The gameplay itself will be under the cut. Assuming I ever make it past this game, I’ll do the same thing for any future games.

GAME: the white chamber
PRODUCER: Studio Trophis
YEAR OF RELEASE: 2005
GENRE: Horror
RATING: Doesn’t have one (being indie), but I’m gonna go with M.

You can download this game (for free!) at http://www.studiotrophis.com/site/projects/thewhitechamber

(As always, you can click the pictures to enlarge. It’s pretty long.)

We start our adventure…in a coffin?

That’s promising.

I guess this is the main character. Really digging that hair. I think I’ll call her Violet for the time being.

Nothing in this room but a coffin and a computer panel thingy, which, as Violet is telling us, is having a connection error. I reconnect the wires, and hey! There’s something on the screen!

I’m gonna go with “no”.

WE’RE IN SPACE. WAY TO STATE THE OBVIOUS, VIOLET.

Back to the panel.

Regret…what? No.

NO I’M NOT READY. But that’s no way to progress in a game, so I pick yes.

BINGO. A DOOR OPENED.

Now I’m in…some kind of control room, I guess. The power is off. There’s blood all over the floor. This is encouraging. It really is.

Through the door on the right is a storage room, blocked by a locked gate. Only thing I can use in here is a bloody labcoat, which I promptly loot.

INVENTORY UPDATE: You have received an OVERRIDE KEY and a KEY CARD!

The card doesn’t work on the gate, though. The power is still off.

Back through the control room, into the left door this time. The only thing I can access here is a backup power unit. HMM.

I can use my override key to activate COMMS, MEDICAL, or STATION ROTATION. Let’s see what STATION ROTATION does.

Hey, I turned on the panel in the main room! Looks like I’m on a solar-powered space station, but it’s facing away from the sun. Let’s change that.

OH YEAH, POWER ON. Now I can try out my sweet key card!

…Or not.

There’s nothing else I can do in here, so I go back to the control room and look at the other panel. It seems to be some kind of elevator thingy. Looks like the room I woke up in was a docking chamber, and I can use this to get to the main station.

THE WHOLE ROOM MOVED.

The left and right doors still lead to the same places they did before, so I go through the door at the back.

JACKPOT. Three doors, two cabinets, and a fire extinguisher (which I take).

I go for the cabinet on the right.

WHAT

Moving on. The cabinet on the left contains a strongbox and a can of Dr. Salt.

INVENTORY UPDATE: You have recieved a LEFT ARM, a DVD, a STRONGBOX, a CAN OF SODA, and a FIRE EXTINGUISHER!

I go through the left door. Nothing in here but a bunch of beds and a blanket, which I steal of course.

Wait, there’s another door in here.

UHHHHHH…

So I go out of the sleeping quarters, on a SPACE STATION, and it leads to a forest on a beach. Makes perfect sense.

There’s nothing out here, so I go back in. Except the door to the living room is gone. NOW WHAT.

Back to the beach, I guess.

…It leads into space now. What.

As soon as Violet pulls herself back in, the living room door reappears. I don’t know what just happened. Time to try another door! I go through the back one this time.

It’s a lab. There’s a sealed door and a broken elevator, plus some video equipment that won’t play my DVD. On closer inspection, I find an ax. Everyone needs an ax in a horror game.

INVENTORY UPDATE: You have received a BLANKET and an AX!

The room to the right is locked, and also on fire. Violet uses FIRE EXTINGUISHER. It’s not very effective. Because the door is locked.

Wait. There’s a switch behind me. What does that do?

It opens a VIDEO SCREEN! Now I can play my DVD!

Some dude named Arthur. According to him, this station is full of scientists. They’re researching something down in “the white chamber”, but Arthur isn’t allowed to go in. Also the scientists are scared to death of it. HMM.

Well, I’ve looked at everything in the living room. Back to the control room it is.

…THIS IS NOT THE CONTROL ROOM. THIS IS NOT ANY KIND OF ROOM I HAVE EVER SEEN.

OH MY GOD, THAT THING JUST STABBED ME IN THE CHEST.

…and suddenly I’m in the sleeping quarters. Violet perfectly sums up my feelings on the matter.

Welp, this seems like a good place to leave off. Tune in next time for more GAMING WITH OTTER!

Leave a Reply

