The Civilization V One City Challenge Part 3: Wonderlust

Standard

Due in small part to continuing technical difficulties, and in large part to the headache they induced, this post is coming a full week later than I’d intended. I’m beginning to wonder if my computer might not have some kind of vendetta against this feature.

Well, enough of of that, let’s get going.

<Turn 51>

My scouts find the edge of Germany’s border, just east of Japan and farther south from my own Empire than I’d expected.

<Turn 52>

Calendar having finished, I select Construction for my next tech to research, as it will allow me to build both a Colosseum and a Circus Maximus in Delhi, both of which will increase my empire’s happiness.

<Turn 53>

 Nothing of note happens.

<Turn 54>

My scout finds the City State of Geneva on the coast south of Germany.

<Turn 55>

One of my scouts begins construction of a plantation on the cotton north of Delhi.

Also, France has settled a city in the desert just north of my borders. The city, Orleans, was actually settled a while ago, but this is the first I’ve really noticed. I really should start paying more attention when I play.

Geneva requests my help against invading barbarians, but they are so far south, and my army so pitifully small, I decide to ignore them.

<Turn 56>

Bismark suggests we make a declaration of friendship, a purely diplomatic gesture that has no contractual obligations (unlike some  treaties and pacts available later in the game), but merely serves to strengthen the existing ties between the two nations and, being a public declaration, possibly effect the opinions of other Empires.

<Turn 57>

The scout not engaged in building a plantation begins constructing a quarry on the stone south of Delhi.

<Turn 58>

Hmm, I’m a little bit troubled by the number of German warriors there are just within my scout’s visibility range.  We’re on good terms now, but I have random personalities turned on and the AI will sometimes cozy up to you to lull you into a false sense of security and then attack you with a massive army. It’s probably about time I start expanding my own army.

<Turn 59>

I send my scout west to explore more of Japan’s border.

<Turn 60>

The plantation having been completed, I send my worker east to continue turning the grasslands surrounding Delhi into farmlands.

<Turn61>

Japan declares war on Geneva. I doubt much will come of this however; it’s a bit early in the game for an AI to actually conquer a City State.

<Turn 62>

Nothing of note happens.

<Turn 63>

My scout falls under attack yet again, and immediately flees north.

<Turn 64>

Huzzah! Delhi has successfully completed the Pyramids! With its bonuses the lands surrounding Delhi will all be improved in no time.

Ah, my research is finished finished as will, bringing my Empire into the Classical Era.

I queue a Granary for Delhi’s next production.

For anyone interested, here’s what my tech tree looks like at this point circa the Ancient Era…

And here’s the Classical Era. I set Philosophy as my research goal, which requires Writing, and so the game automatically queues Writing as my next research.

<Turn 65

Ah, turns out those German warriors weren’t meant for me after all, but for Japan. Well, the more the AI Empires fight each other, the more they leave me alone.

<Turn 66>

Nothing of note happens.

<Turn 67>

And my second scout is dead. Due once again to my own stupid negligence; i.e. forgetting that there were barbarians roving about in these hills. I’m beginning to wonder if I’m as good at this game as I’d thought…

<Turn 68-69>

My workers continue to build farms on the grasslands around Delhi.

<Turn 70>

Writing having finished, I automatically begin researching Philosophy.

One of my workers begins constructing a mine atop the hills across the river from Delhi.

Delhi has finished building a granary. Since I have a source of stone with a quarry on it, I can build a Stone Works to increase happiness and production in Delhi.

<Turn 71>

Both Germany and Japan request that I declare open borders with them, and I say yes to both of them. Open borders, as you might guess, is a 30 turn long pact that enables the two empires concerned to move units freely within each other’s borders (ordinarily moving a unit inside another Empires borders is an act of war). It can also strengthen friendships between Civilizations.

Concerned for my Empires safety, I decide to purchase a War Elephant, a powerful early game ranged unit exclusive to India, to bolster my military.

<Turn 72-73>

Nothing of note happens.

<Turn 74>

I’ve earned another Civic Point, and I choose Monarchy, which will increase gold production and decrease unhappiness for every two citizens of Delhi.

<Turn 75>

Ah, a list of the world’s happiest Civilizations. Third place, not bad. Better than I usually do on this difficulty.

<Turn 76>

With all of the land currently within my borders developed, I begin setting my workers to “sleep” until more tiles come within my control. I could just disband a few of them, and save a bit of gold per turn on their upkeep, but I’m not hurting for cash and I don’t feel like downsizing my workforce just yet.

<Turn 77>

Nobunaga asks that we make a public declaration of friendship, and I agree. Might as well play both sides of the conflict for as long as I can, right?

Delhi has finished build a Stone Works, and I select The Great Library for its next project. If it’s successful, this will be my second Great Wonder.

<Turn 78-79>

Nothing of note happens.

<Turn 80>

Philosophy has finished being researched, and I figure its about time I archery.

<Turn 81>

Nothing of note happens.

<Turn 82>

Archery is finished, and I decide to research Mathematics which will, with the addition of iron, allow me to build a catapult and further strengthen my defensive forces.

<Turn 83>

Napoleon suggests that we make a research agreement, a pact in which two Civilizations each offer up a fee of gold to receive bonuses to their respective research, and I accept his offer. I’ve got plenty of money, and whats it for if not to spend?

Lhasa, having developed a bit of a feud with its fellow city state Geneva, announces to the world that it seeks a powerful ally to help eradicate its enemy. City states will often do this to one another, and the AI rarely acts upon these requests. I rarely respond to them myself.

<Turn 84-85>

Nothing of note happens.

<Turn 86>

A message informs me that The Great Wall, a great wonder, has been built in a faraway land. No matter, I hadn’t intended to build it myself anyway.

A French warrior, whom I assume is acting as a scout to fill out the gaps in Napoleon’s world map, comes within range visual range of Delhi.

<Turn 87-89>

Nothing of note happens.

<Turn 90>

Nobunaga proposes that we enter into a research agreement, and, since I have just enough gold on hand, I accept.

Yes! The Great Library is mine! Now I get a free tech, and a free library in Delhi.

In addition, Mathematics has finished being researched.

For me free tech, I choose Civil Service. My reasons are threefold; 1) it is one of the most advanced techs I have access to at this point, and so would take the longest to research on my own, 2) it will allow me to build pikemen, a military unit that can decimate cavalry, and 3) it will allow me to attempt to build the great wonder Chichen Itza.

And with that technology, my empire enters the Medieval Era.

I queue Chichen Itza for Delhi’s next production project, hoping to capitalize on my early access to the prerequisite technologies.

For my next research I choose Theology, as it will allow me to build a monastery in Delhi to increase my cultural output.

<Turn 91-92>

Nothing of note happens.

<Turn 93>

Having built up enough excess happiness, my empire enters a golden age! For the next ten turns my production will be increased and my gold per turn profits doubled.

Two of my workers begin constructing lumber mills on the forest tiles newly brought within Delhi’s borders.

<Turn 94-95>

Nothing of note happens.

<Turn 96>

Wait, what? War? I honestly didn’t see this coming… I thought that France and I were allies. That just goes to show you: it’s never the one you expect when random personalities are turned on.

It remains to be seen what his intentions are however, if this a war of conquest, or if he’s merely trying to intimidate me into paying him off to leave me alone.

Napoleon’s forces move on my north border, capturing one of my workers. I begin to position what forces I have to defend Delhi and my remaining workers. While France undoubtedly will have a larger force than I, my army is made up of more advanced, powerful units, and I should be able to hold the line long enough to build or buy reinforcements.

Remembering that I can, I pay the small fee to upgrade my spearman into a pikeman, further advancing my army’s  technological superiority.

Delhi bombards the French warrior within range.

<Turn 97>

My war elephant bombards the French archer, causing damage but not defeating it.

My pikeman, having crossed the river, is bombarded by the enemy archer and takes a small amount of damage.

<Turn 98>

My pikeman attacks and defeats the wounded enemy archer, sustaining more damage in the process. My war elephant bombards a nearby enemy warrior, reducing its health by half.

My pikeman is bombarded by a second archer, leaving its hit points dangerously low.

Delhi bombards the injured warrior to its north for a second time, further reducing its health.

<Turn 99>

My pikeman attacks and defeats the warrior that my war elephant had softened up in the previous turn, though now its health is all but gone.

My pikeman falls under attack from the French warrior injured by Delhi’s bombardments, and is defeated.

<Turn 100>

Hmm, this list ranks the world’s civilizations according to how many social policies they have adopted. I think it only means how many adopted, not maxed out, which is what I try to do before moving on to another policy, but still, this does not bode well for my goal of achieving a cultural victory.

Delhi bombards the remaining French archer, damaging it, and my war elephant destroys the warrior that killed my pikeman.

Well, turn 100 seems as good a place as any to end this installment. I hope you’ve enjoyed part three of the Civilization One City Challenge.

Until next time,

~NekoShogun

Leave a Reply

