A Quick Scene

Standard

I had a dream Sunday morning that involved lots of weird stuff, but ultimately inspired a story idea, and I thought I’d write the beginning and post it here. So here it is! (Also, I don’t know about the kittens. I just don’t.) A warning, though: the story may beat you over the head with Quirky. If you don’t like quirky stories, you probably won’t like this. Anyway, here it is!

It was 9:15 A.M. (give or take a few kittens) on a surprisingly bright, sunny Friday morning when Lora Thompson woke up in the back seats of her car. She had been having a rather pleasant dream prior to waking up, and she frowned a moment before slowly sitting up. Yawning, she slowly stretched to relieve the soreness in her back.

It was at the precise moment her fingers brushed the ceiling of her car that she realized it was moving.

Lora blinked a few times–yes, the car was definitely moving, judging by the presence of two men in the driver and passenger seats. Lora blinked a few more times to make sure her eyes weren’t deceiving her, then, in as indignant a tone as she could muster, said:

“Excuse me?”

Her words had a profound effect on the men; the one driving let out a loud yelp and the car swerved madly, knocking Lora into the side of the car. The passenger yelled similarly, then turned around in his seat (quite horrendously he wasn’t wearing a seat belt) and gaped at Lora for a few moments before beginning to scream. The driving man had just managed to right the car’s course, but the passenger’s screaming startled him and he began screaming as well as the car swerved back and forth. Finding it infectious, Lora joined in on the screaming.

If anyone had been around, they would have stared at the beige car careening around the road emitting loud screams. Thankfully, they were on a small road and nobody was there to hear.

Eventually, Lora’s voice began to falter and she stopped screaming, which caused the men to cease as well.

“Just what do you think you’re doing?” Lora croaked as the car slowed down.

“What’re you doing‽* You shouldn’t be here!” said the passenger.

“It’s my bloody car!” said Lora. By now the car had come to a stop, and the driver turned around as well.

“I’m terribly sorry, I hope you’re not angry, please don’t call the police, are you going to tell on us…?” he said.

Lora paused for a moment, thinking. “No, that won’t do any good. But really, what are you doing?”

The driver opened his mouth to speak, but the passenger interrupted.

“Well, see, we stole your car to get away from the police.”

“…And why did you want to get away from the police?”

“Because, well, we sort of ended up with some… diamonds?” The passenger looked to the driver for confirmation; the driver nodded.

Lora grinned. “So, money.”

“Erm… yes,” said the driver. “But it’s ours!”

“Not if I tell the police.”

“But you said you wouldn’t!”

“And I won’t, if you give me a sha-” Lora was cut off by the low wailing of sirens in the distance. The two men went white as sheets.

“Look, we have to get outta here!” cried the passenger. “Please, can we use your car a bit longer?”

“Yes, but I get to have some of the diamonds when we’re through!”

“Yes, yes, of course,” said the driver as he turned back to the wheel. The car groaned for a moment, then began moving; in a few moments, they were gone.

Obviously this is just first draft material and is pretty bad, but I thought I’d put it out there anyway. Also, I do believe the story takes place in an unspecified part of Britain, though I plan on never really stating so (slang used should be the only indicator). If I got some British slang wrong in the speech or could add some in, please tell me!

3 responses »

  1. I get here to read your story by accident,it’s an interesting story though it hasn’t been finished yet.Sometimes i have some awful dreams but i never think about writing them down,after reading your story according to a dream,i think it’s a good idea to do that.

    • Thank you!

      The only problem with dreams inspiring stories is that so often they’re derivative of other things, as all dreams are (or at least most dreams–I had a really cool one this morning that seemed mostly original). But nevetheless, I have some ideas I really love that came from dreams.

Leave a comment